Sunday, March 05, 2006

The Beatitudes

A lot of people had come to see Jesus. He took the disciples with Him up the mountainside and began to teach them. These solemn blessings mark the opening of the Sermon on the Mount, which is the very first of Our Lord's sermons in the Gospel of St. Matthew.

Each of the Beatitudes tells us something about what our Attitude should BE. Each one starts with the word "Blessed". One of the meanings of "blessed" is happy or joyful. Each of the "blessed' statements describes a person who puts God and other's interest above his or her own interest. We cannot be blessed if we live selfishly.

Do you live a life of JOY; JESUS first, OTHERS next, and YOURSELF last?

The Eight Beatitudes- Mathew 5:1-10

Blessed are the poor in spirit:
For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are the meek:
For they shall possess the land.

Blessed are they that mourn:
For they shall be comforted.

Blessed are they That hunger and thirst after justice:
For they shall have their fill.

Blessed are the merciful:
For they shall obtain mercy.

Blessed are the clean of heart:
For they shall see God.

Blessed are the peace-makers:
For they shall be called the children of God.

Blessed are they That suffer persecution for justice's sake:
For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

No comments:

Post a Comment